Mixtape #21

Fleet Foxes, Arca, Feist, Perfume Genius, and Kendrick Lamar are all back with hot new songs. Frank Ocean released two songs out of the blue. New discoveries: Jay Som, Cosmo Pyke, and London O’Conner. Enjoy the spring!


Mixtape #20

New mixtape!

Frank Ocean is back again but as a featured artist on Slide by Calvin Harris. Future Islands, Alex G, and Mac Demarco are finally back with new albums coming soon. Plus a new discovery: Snail Mail. Enjoy the mixtape.

Best TV Shows of 2016

2016 was a relatively good year for TV, minus the absence of some favorites like Fargo, The Leftovers, The Knick, and Rick & Morty.

We got two great shows about OJ Simpson. Louis CK surprised everyone with his fantastic web series that almost left him broke. Great comedies started to come out of nowhere, like Fleabag, Search Party, One Mississippi, and Take My Wife. Game of Thrones finally surpassed the books in its story (and gave us some really good episodes), while another HBO release, Westworld, was brutally spoiled by the fan’s theories on the internet.

I’m mostly excited for Halt and Catch Fire and The Leftovers, since both shows are going to air their last seasons in 2017, and I really hope that they do stick the landing.

Here are my favorites shows from 2016:

The Dramas:

  • BrainDead.
  • Halt and Catch Fire.
  • Horace and Pete.
  • O.J.: Made in America.
  • Rectify.
  • The Americans.
  • The Girlfriend Experience.
  • The People vs O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story.

The Comedies:

  • Atlanta.
  • Better Things.
  • BoJack Horseman.
  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend.
  • Fleabag.
  • High Maintenance.
  • Insecure.
  • Jane the Virgin.
  • Lady Dynamite.
  • Love.
  • One Mississippi.
  • Orange Is the New Black.
  • Please Like Me.
  • Search Party.
  • Take My Wife.
  • Transparent.
  • Veep.

Honorable Mentions:

  • Broad City.
  • Silicon Valley.
  • The Good Place.
  • The Night Of.
  • You’re the Worst.

Best Video Games of 2016

Best Video Games of 2016

2016 was an amazing year for gaming. Overwatch blew the multiplayer shooter scene, Dishonored and Titanfall both delivered fantastic sequels (with time twists!), Doom proved that single player shooters are still fun to play, and No Man’s Sky was not worth the hype (to say the least).

It was a great year for indies such as: Oxenfree, The Witness, Inside, Firewatch, Virginia, Abzû… The list goes on and on.

Anyways, without further ado. Here are my favorites games of 2016.

The Favorites:

  • Deus Ex: Mankind Divided
  • Dishonored 2
  • DOOM
  • Firewatch
  • Forza Horizon 3
  • Hitman
  • Hyper Light Drifter
  • Inside
  • Overwatch
  • Oxenfree
  • Superhot
  • The Last Guardian
  • The Witness
  • Titanfall 2
  • Virginia

The Honorable Mentions:

  • Abzû
  • Bad Chess
  • Clash Royale
  • Battlefield 1
  • Dark Souls 3
  • Fire Emblem Fates: Birthright/Conquest
  • Gears of War 4
  • That Dragon, Cancer
  • Uncharted 4: A Thief’s End
  • Watch Dogs 2

Didn’t play (yet):

  • Thumper
  • Rex Infinite
  • Event[0]
  • Darkest Dungeon
  • Final Fantasy XV
  • SteamWorld Heist
  • Stephen’s Sausage Roll
  • The Banner Saga 2
  • Lovers In a Dangerous Spacetime
  • Ratchet and Clank
  • Stardew Valley
  • Owlboy
  • XCOM 2
  • Civilization 6

Best Music of 2016

Best Music of 2016

What a year! It was difficult for me to choose the albums for this list. I could talk for hours about the albums and songs that I liked, especially Frank Ocean’s Blonde and ENDLESS.

Here are my favorite albums and tracks of 2016.

The Favorites (in alphabetical order):

  • A Tribe Called Quest – We got it from Here… Thank You 4 Your service
  • Angel Olsen – MY WOMAN
  • Beyoncé – LEMONADE
  • Big Thief – Masterpiece
  • Blood Orange – Freetown Sound
  • Bon Iver – 22, A Million
  • Car Seat Headrest – Teens of Denial
  • Chairlift – Moth
  • Chance the Rapper – Coloring Book
  • Danny Brown – Atrocity Exhibition
  • David Bowie – Blackstar
  • Frank Ocean – Blonde
  • Frank Ocean – ENDLESS
  • Frankie Cosmos – Next Thing
  • James Blake – The Colour In Anything
  • Jenny Hval – Blood Bitch
  • Kaytranada – 99.9%
  • Mitski – Puberty 2
  • Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds – Skeleton Tree
  • Noname – Telefone
  • Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool
  • Rihanna – ANTI
  • Solange – A Seat at the Table
  • Weyes Blood – Front Row Seat to Earth
  • Whitney – Light Upon the Lake

The Honorable Mentions:

  • Anderson .Paak – Malibu
  • Carly Rae Jepsen – E•Mo•Tion: Side B
  • JoJo – Mad Love.
  • Kanye West – The Life of Pablo
  • Leonard Cohen – You Want It Darker
  • Savages – Adore Life

Favorite Tracks:


Mixtape #18

Last mixtape for 2016. WHAT A YEAR!

I’ll leave you with it as I start the difficult task of choosing the best tracks and albums of the year.